Regional Connection Before Local Connections?

According to a recent Star-Telegram story, Arlington is funding a pilot bus project to connect downtown and the TRE line at center point. The annual cost of this service is $700,000 with $350,000 of that coming from the city.

To put things in terms of bike infrastructure:

Arlington’s cost share of the bus service for one year shadows the cost of the Hike & Bike plan’s cost for a 30-year build out of bike lanes and sharrows. A total of 72 miles of on-street infrastructure!

Cheers to Arlington for trying out regional connectivity.
Jeers to Arlington for missing out on greater local connectivity first!

If council members can cast a vote and write a check to fund a limited, bus pilot-program for 1-year, why couldn’t they just as easily have funded the on-street portion of the bike plan and gotten 30-years of building done in the same 1-year time frame?

We urge you to contact your council representative and cc: the entire council. The only way that the Hike & Bike plan is going to get the attention that it deserves is if the Council hears from you.

jimmy.bennett@arlingtontx.gov; sheri.capehart@arlingtontx.govrobert.cluck@arlingtontx.gov; michael.glaspie@arlingtontx.gov; charlie.parker@arlingtontx.gov; robert.rivera@arlingtontx.gov; robert.shepard@arlingtontx.gov; kathryn.wilemon@arlingtontx.gov; lana.wolff@arlingtontx.gov

Subject: Bicycle Infrastructure and Local Connectivity

Dear Mr./Mrs.X
I recently read the Star-Telegram article titled “Pilot project could have buses running in Arlington.”

I was shocked to find out that the city is willing to spend $350,000 on a 1-year pilot project for buses, but not $247,000 to finish 30-years worth of on-street bike infrastructure. In my opinion, this funding has been misplaced.

I support regional connectivity, but let’s work on local connectivity first.

Thank you,

Jane Smith
123 Elm St.
Arlington, Tx

  1. Phil

    Thanks for the heads up. I have sent an email to all the representatives. Let’s hope we can get the funding for the Bike and Hike Plan.

  2. Brad

    I sent emails to all council members and the mayor, shared on my facebook, asking all Arlington citizens that I am friends with to do the same. I got a response almost immediately from Robert Rivera. I think he has an auto response set up on his email or he is on the ball.

  3. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading
    it, you are a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may
    come back sometime soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a
    nice afternoon!

  4. I every time spent my half an hour to read this
    blog’s posts daily along with a mug of coffee.

  5. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any
    issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the
    web without my permission. Do you know any techniques to help prevent content from being ripped off?

    I’d really appreciate it.

  6. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your site provided us with useful information to work on. You’ve performed a
    formidable job and our whole community might be thankful to you.

  7. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit
    from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thank you!




Leave a Reply

  • FRIENDS





    BikeDFW

  • BIKE FRIENDLY FAMILY










    Bike Denton